top of page

We Choose To Rise

I choose to rise Not because I have to But because I get to Because life is still breathing me A pulse is still reminding me Knocking at my heart door Saying even though this..... You can still choose to open

I choose to rise Even though I have enough material in this life To keep me wrestling in the mud of victim But instead I choose to make her my friend No longer hiding , shaming her away We went deeper holding loves hand We made dark rich compost there and let the tears and screams water it in real good pain and rage and disgust and blame Until it turned into responsibility and passion and purpose and True advocacy To what is now growing

I choose to rise Even though what I thought I had Was enough It really had me And kept me a beggar for the Love I thought I didn’t deserve I grieved the family I pretended to portray And digging here in this compost found In the ugly broken down reality of what I was afraid to see The truth I did not want to face Real beauty and wisdom became clear in my willingness to embrace My abandoned one My abused one My betrayed one My broken one My teacher My healer And made a new family inside That can never be taken away

I choose to rise Because I saw as I gave my power away It left my body vacant As I claim and come in body And love the density of my humanity I rise in formed, in love, in powered not an activist but activated.

I choose to rise Because I remember innocence and the truth When I look in my daughters eyes I see the future of equality of rising and raising new possibility When I remember I get to raise myself through raising her as she raises me A reciprocity that continues to give and receive and we rise together Because our daughters need to see that real strength is in loving our realness Our brokenness Our vulnerability Our voices still speaking even though the people we thought loved us Go away It makes room for those that actually do And truly support the bigness and fullness of all that we are without apology for who we came to be As my inner daughter begins to trust life again true evolution occurs

I choose to rise Because it is a choice I choose to rise Because the love is so much stronger than the fear I choose to dive into the depths of what is dying and give it a proper burial. I grieve it with full permission I choose to receive all the gold from every choice I have made From all of life’s offerings And celebrate with full range emotion With those who know this place too. I choose to hold hands with others like me That know that there is a better way. And in order to create it....cause we get to Even though life gave us this

We to choose to rise.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page