top of page

Being Human is my Spiritual Practice

Updated: Oct 24, 2018


My spiritual practice is practicing to be human. 

I often imagine what it would feel like in other countries where children don't have access to education like we do here. I imagine Earth like that. How fortunate I am to take a body here on Earth to practice and learn how to be human. 


So many do not feel safe here and are trying to escape through all of the ways we learn to cope and addict. We are taught to check out, rather than check in.. What we don't realize is running with not solve the trauma, but turning to face and embrace will.


Learning how to love with my full sensory experience. How to be kind and compassionate to others with similarities and differences. Different hair and skin and beliefs yet all here practicing the same thing. 

Practicing embracing my perfectly flawed, imperfect perfection, in my body, my emotions and in my , "not know how to do this".

Practicing being human by cultivating community, communication, communion, which feel most important to me. I can here after all to learn how to be in relationships with my own and others humanity.

I have no desire to practice being more spiritual and isolating myself in a cave, meditating for hours or an office away from other humans.

I want to know what it is to love working through conflict, learning to embrace making mistakes and heal. To have opportunities to forgive, to feel so deeply connected and feel another even when I feel afraid. Learning to touch each person I see with joy, while feeling the pain as a reminder that this school in our Earth bodies is a gift. I repeat our bodies and the Earth is a gift. 

Doing my best to treat my families and my body with care. Feeding it with high vibrational foods and medicines that the Earth naturally provides. Giving myself movement and touch so this sacred vehicle can allow spirit to explore and speak through it more gracefully and lovingly. 

Embracing my roles I chose as mother, lover, partner, student, teacher, healer and so much more. Yet not letting those roles define my infinite capability of what is possible while in this body.

I realized this is my spiritual practice. Practicing being a loving human inside out. Making a family and community with all of these internal and vulnerable parts of myself so that I can be that as I walk through the world.


The way I see it, the world doesn't need to be taught another religion or yoga posture or math problem, not that that isn't important but certainly insignificant without also including learning to love and respect each other through our humanity and taking care of our Earth. Not having to wait until our bodies are taking last breaths and our Earth is destroyed to realize that. 

Personally, I feel the world needs to be taught how to be kind humans and how to love and embrace each other even in the mists of perceived differences. To honor the freedom of our own and everyone's freedom of what they came to learn and explore. To have safe, held spaces that help us to unravel our trauma and wounding and begin to trust ourselves and each other once again. To build bridges between our hearts.

This a vital.


Our planet needs us to not only value our human relationships because I feel we really do, but be action oriented in our ways to heal. Bringing awarenesses to the deeply incoherent ways in which we have learned to relate to each other. Then prioritize learning and practicing a more heart-connected way. Perhaps we will begin to realize how foundational this really is so we can make it an integral part of our home, school, work and temple spaces.

  From soul to cell, weaving our naturally spiritual nature through the heart of our humanity and Earth wisdom. If we can become present enough we can hear this calling within and which we are all connected to. It is alive and keeping a steady pulse through our sacred, precious heart individual and collective heart.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page